L. Murchison Gordon, April 29, 1944

I found this message on a Website…

My beloved uncle L. Murchison Gordon was a gunner on the Athabaskan on April 29th 1944.

There was no body to bury, as far as we know.

He was much loved and has never been forgotten by his family.

I was 8 years old at the time, but it seems like yesterday, especially on Novmber 11th.


The person is June G. Taylor

I sent an e-mail but it came back.

This is what I found on the Internet on Able Seaman Gordon.


In memory of
Able Seaman
LLOYD MURCHISON  GORDON

who died on April 29, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number: V/1267
Age: 23
Force: Navy
Unit: Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve
Division: H.M.C.S. Athabaskan

Additional Information:

Son of Maimie Gordon, of Clyde River, Prince Edward Island.

There is a picture…

Photo of Lloyd M. Gordon

I also found this on the Internet after I wrote this article…

If you want to write to me, just click here