To Daddy… Happy 85th… Love… Beth & Neil

The book I bought from Schooner Books Ltd in Halifax was almost brand new…

This is what was written on the back of the cover page…


To Daddy

I wonder who the person is.

Was he on the ship?

When was this gift bought?


My wife’s uncle’s name does not appear in the list of sailors on board the Athabaskan.

This is strange.

He served on the Athabaskan and recalls being saved by the Haida.

I sent the photo of the crew to his daughter just as a memento. I know Pierre will not look at it.

I salute him for his courage… and I understand his pain.


Speaking of the book… and the sailor behind Commander Stubbs…


cover page 1

photo crew back cover 1

Crew of the Athabaskan G07

wife's uncle

while browsing it, I found another picture with his name. He is Able Seaman Corbiere.

The sailor behind Commander Stubbs is not my wife’s uncle…

In memory of

Able Seaman
VINCENT GERALD  CORBIERE

who died on April 29, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number: V/34003
Age: 20
Force: Navy
Unit: Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve
Division: H.M.C.S. Athabaskan

Additional Information:

Son of Thomas Vincent and Mildred C. Corbiere, of St. Catharines, Ontario. The province of Ontario honoured Able Seaman Gaetano by naming Corbiere Lake in his honour.


If you want to share something with my readers, you can write to me by clicking here.

ROLL ALONG WAVY NAVY, ROLL ALONG…