Feldwebel Günther Kramer

I got this message this morning.

I was expecting it.

Last year we were given an envelope which held a shoulder strap with the following written on the front.

Sgt Major Günther Kramer was a Messerschmitt pilot shot down over Kent. He was taken as a POW. He was one of five billeted out on Chivers Farm Aldreth near Ely (Cambs).

He gave me his pilots shoulder strap as a souvenir when he returned to Germany, we called him Jack, he had been a school teacher before being called up, he came from Altenburg, he wrote a few letters when he returned home.

I have done some research to try and find any descendants  so that we could return these items but without success and wondered if you might be luckier.

I look forward to your reply and if you would like a picture of the shoulder strap I will attach one when we next communicate.

With Thanks,

I did reply…

So here is the shoulder strap.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Any information is be more than welcome.

8 thoughts on “Feldwebel Günther Kramer

  1. I am, though this is all very third hand. I met the seekers of information, a local historian and his wife, after he had given a lecture at my old college. I eavesdropped on a conversation about WWII airfields and then they told me about their quest. It is a small world now.

    1. If we don’t look for information, we won’t find anything.
      My virtual meeting with you, and then with Marcus Bicknel, shows us the path to follow.

Leave a comment