Full speed ahead

That’s what Herm Sulkers would say.

Jim L’Esperance would concur.

Click on the image for a full view.

Paul Sulkers, Herm’s son, wrote me on Wednesday.

I can share everything he sent me and whatever pictures he has  just like when Jim L’Esperance’s son wrote me two years ago and shared all.

Click here…

If two years seems a long time.

Try 67 years.

Try April 29, 1944.


Click on the image for a full view.

This is the picture seen on the back cover of Unlucky Lady.

Click on the image for a full view.

Paul had this one also but his photograph was sharper as you can see.

Paul sent me this one in the same e-mail.

I had never seen this one before.

Click on the image for a full view.


You see Paul Sulkers subscribed Wednesday to my blog.

I know when people do that.

I wrote him an e-mail…

Hi,

I saw that you have subscribed to my blog.

Are you related to Herman Sulkers?

Pierre Lagacé

Paul wrote back…

Hi Pierre, and yes, he is my father, although in case you had not hear, he passed away in 2007. I came across your blog and really appreciated the content and the connections that you are establishing.

One reason for subscribing is that I was going to post a note to see if we can pull together the list of all the names in the photos of the
Athabaskan’s company – I have two which I have attached. I have had them for many years, and really would like to find a way to put a name
“officialy” behind as many faces as we can.

Paul

If you have been reading my blog from the start, you know what I am going to do…

Come back tomorrow.

Full speed ahead.

7 thoughts on “Full speed ahead

  1. I just found your page and there is are two photos of the Athabaskan and they have numbers by person. I think that is my father in the photo that has the 56 crew members in it. My Dad is # 37

    1. Can you tell me where that picture is? Copy the link so I can find it. I have so many pictures.

  2. sailor #88 in the ship photo is my grandfather … David (William) Frame . I’ve been trying to find a photo of him in his uniform as i would like to frame it with his medals he received from the war. Does anyone know where i might find photos of each sailor from the G07 Athabaskan

Leave a comment