In French the duty to remember is le devoir de mémoire.

In 2009 I did not know that.

In 2009 I just could not help myself sharing what my wife’s uncle had told about the Athabaskan in a  family  reunion.

cropped-hmcs-athabaskan-11.jpg

I did not know HMCS Athabaskan had ever existed let alone it was sunk on April 29, 1944!

I did not know also that my wife’s uncle was a sailor in the Royal Canadian Navy during World War Two and that he was a stoker in the engine room when that ship was torpedoed!

Pierre did not want to share more about his ordeal, and I respected his decision not to.

This is when I had the idea of creating a blog called Souvenirs de guerre in August 2009, and this English version you are now reading.

This is post number 1048. That’s a lot of posts isn’t?

This blog is not only about HMCS Athabaskan.

cropped-hmcs_athabaskan_g071.jpg

But everytime someone shares something new about the Athabaskan I will share it with you with their permission to do so.

This is what I want to share with you this morning.

A personal message from  the son of a sailor.

My father was one picked up by her sister ship. I just wanted to thank you for all you are doing in the memory of those who served. My father’s name…

Haida with survivors

The rest of the story will be on Lest We Forget II since I have no more space here to add more pictures with my stories.

2 thoughts on “Lest We Forget – The Duty to Remember

Leave a Reply

