August 3, 2015

This is a comment someone made about the reblogged post titled August 2, 1945.

Thank you, Pierre, for reblogging today’s post on Wayne’s Journal. Today’s is the penultimate post. I hope that everyone that reads it will take time to read the entries under its “Notes & Commentary” section. There is a lot of information there about which most people know nothing.

I don’t know what the criteria were for shipping home remains, i.e., when was there nothing worth shipping home, of U.S. serviceman nor do I know if other countries did what we in the U.S. did.

Verne’s brother, Harry, told his wife and children that Verne’s body really wasn’t in the casket. That nothing was left of him. Yet every Christmas, Harry visited Verne’s grave and decorated it with a wreath. It was his way of honoring his brother. Harry was following the custom of many families in the U.S. Those that had loved ones buried in cemeteries overseas sometimes made arrangement for their graves to be decorated at Christmas.

It was once common at Christmas to find the graves of soldiers decorated with wreaths. As parents and brothers and sisters passed away and as families relocated to other places fewer and fewer wreaths were seen. Communities forgot those that were buried in their cemeteries and why they had died so young. Across the U.S. and at overseas military cemeteries, we are once again honoring with wreaths soldiers that have passed on. That effort is through local community groups working through an organization known as Wreathes Across America (http://www.wreathsacrossamerica.org/about/answering-why/). In 2014, Wreaths Across America through it network of volunteers laid over 700,000 wreaths on veterans graves at over 1,000 locations across the U.S. and overseas.

Those that died defending our country have not been forgotten nor should they ever be.

10 thoughts on “August 3, 2015

      1. In 2009, when I started to write about WW II, I didn’t know about Gold Star mothers. Every chance I get, I remind people…sort of a virtual symbolic eternal flame.

      2. Believe me, when someone is handed their survivors pin – they know. If youngsters today are clueless – whose fault is that? [seriously, I’d like to know your opinion].

      3. There was a time when most of us lived in neighborhoods; we knew our neighbors. Service flags hung in windows as did Gold Star flags. We wore lapel pins on our clothing that identified our accomplishments, the organizations of which we were members and, sometimes, our losses. Today, few people were such pins. A year or so ago, I noted a man that I knew had a Gold Star Service Flag pin on his lapel. I went up to him and put my arm around his shoulders and said, “I am sorry to hear of your loss.” Prior to seeing the lapel pin, I did not know he had a son in service. His son had recently turned 40 and left behind a wife and three teenagers. He thanked me for caring and said that I was the only one that had noted his loss.

        To my mind, it is not a matter of youngsters today being clueless. It is a matter of people born after, say, 1970 being clueless. Whose fault is it? Their parents, their teachers and the society in which they live. That is just my opinion. I am sure there will be those who disagree, and I respect that.

Leave a Reply

