What Happened on August 8th – 9th – Battle of Savo Island

From the same blogger

IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE

I stood on a wide and desolate shore

And the night was dismal and cold.

I watched the weary rise, –

And the moon was a riband of gold.

Far off I heard the trumpet sound,

Calling the quick and the dead,

The long and rumbling roll of drums,

And the moon was a riband of red.

Dead sailors rose from out of the deep,

Nor looked not left or right,

But shoreward marched upon the sea,

And the moon was a riband of white.

A hundred ghosts stood on the shore

At the turn of the midnight flood,

They beckoned me with spectral hands,

And the moon was a riband of blood.

Slowly I walked to the waters edge,

And never once looked back

Till the waters swirled about my feet,

And the moon was a riband of black.

I woke alone on a desolate shore

From a dream…

View original post 2,097 more words

10 thoughts on “What Happened on August 8th – 9th – Battle of Savo Island

      1. I don’t think she has enough information – hence – I am asking you – my mentor to possibly help.
        [looking for a frame for my new historical treasure]

      2. The link you sent was about her two uncles?

        There is a lot of information in there. Am I missing the point of your message?

      3. I don’t think she has enough to start a blog about her uncles, but I thought you might appreciate information about about another pair of Canadians.

      4. You start small then things grow by themselves.

        You don’t need to write like I do.

        But then you get carried away like I did. You’re also one proof of this.,.

        Did you get your letter yet from Mr. Corbeil? I sent it last Tuesday.

      5. I had also said in the original note to Please thank Mr. Corbeil for including me in his final mission. Be certain I shall never forget!

Leave a Reply

