Who remembers Ernest Mills?

Who remembers Ernest Mills?

Ernest G. Mills

MPK – 29 Apr 1944

Click here.

 

Who remembers Ernest Mills?

Someone who wrote me this comment:

My dad, Captain (E) Ralph W. Edwards, aged 95, served on the old Sally with Ernie Mills, who was lost on the Athabascan. The other day he and I were going through some old photos and I came across one of the Sally’s ERA’s at a Christmas party in 1941, the picture of course including Ernie Mills, a very close friend of dad’s. Under the picture was a note written by Ernie to dad about friendship, and how important friends were to Ernie. I know this doesn’t directly relate to Athabascan, but would the photo and the note be of interest?

7 thoughts on “Who remembers Ernest Mills?

  1. Hello
    My name is Bryce Sophonow I am Ernest Mills’ great-grandson. It would mean a lot to me and my family mainly my grandmother, Ernest’s daughter, to get any copies of notes or photos you may have.

    I have always grown up looking at his photo and asking my grandma to tell me stories about him, but there is very few as she was only 2 when he passed. The only story I have is of the day the ship sank! He sent his wife Agnes (Mills) Stephenson a telegram saying he will be home soon and to send his love to the children. We also know that as the ship was sinking he came over the radio from the engine room and God blessed everyone.
    Thank you very much for your help.
    Robert Bryce Sophonow

    1. Hi Robert,

      Everything I have is on the blog. You can save all you want on your computer if you know how to do it.

      Also the book Unlucky Lady is a great source of information. You could get a used copy on Amazon.

    1. If you buy the used book, you will have the whole story. Act quickly. One book is really cheap on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

