Why I have been writing this blog since 2009?

This blogger wrote this in 2005.

Friday, January 14, 2005

WARWRITING: Reading and writing for military buffs.

War and military events have forged the entire history of humankind throughout the 50,000 years of our known existence. Despotism, cruelty, and oppression, democracy, politics, nationhood, exploration, religions, social development, the spread of tyranny, prejudice, pestilence, tolerance, and ideals, the evil of slavery and its abolition, advances in medicine, technology, science, and the arts — all came about as the result of warfare, and continue to do so.
This is not said to glorify war; quite the contrary. Nobody detests the pain, horror, and wholesale deaths of combat more than do warriors themselves. Yet, over the past few decades, public understanding of the importance of military history to our society today has become so eroded as to be virtually non-existent, and the armed services have fallen into disrepute. This change has come about over the past 30 years, largely because study of history in general, and military history in particular, is no longer taught by most schools and universities in English-speaking countries. Whenever military issues ever do happen by chance to be raised in academe, teachers’ most common response is cliche-ridden scorn and pacifist distortion, born of their own personal lack of knowledge about actual political/military events of the past.
Print and broadcast media are also dominated by the new dogma of ‘political correctness’ that rejects the validity of patriotism and the harsh lessons of history that has proved time and again the necessity of democratic nations sometimes needing to go to war to protect their very survival. Press pundits and television anchor-persons habitually show an almost laughable ignorance of the historical background of the countries, conflicts, or disasters they gravely purport to be explaining. They rarely offer any historical perspective, but instead often perpetuate the widespread simple ignorance of past events that has brought about a sort of naive expectation of permanent universal peace.
Seldom mentioned now in the halls of academe or by TV and newspapers, is that the very freedom we enjoy in Western countries today was bought at the human cost of millions of men and women who fought and died to defeat oppressive regime. As a military historian myself, who has researched and written about military affairs for many years, I believe that more widespread understanding of the role of warfare in world history is the best possible weapon in the struggle for world peace.
From time to time, I intend to write on this ‘blog’ about the enjoyment and benefits of studying and writing military history, with excerpts from my own books and those of other authors. I intend this site to develop and grow gradually, with added helpful information about writing and reading military books, articles, theses, movie scripts, and Web sites. As part of a collective process, I cordially welcome comments from like-minded visitors about the topic and any other suggested readings in military history they care to share here.
Best Regards.
— Sidney Allinson.
http://warwriting.blogspot.ca/2005/01/warwriting-reading-and-writing-for.html
10 thoughts on “Why I have been writing this blog since 2009?

  1. I would agree that some of the history I love is being glossed over at schools like my daughters. Nevertheless, it is not to say they are not learning about war and history, they are just being very selective sometimes on what they focus on. It is partly why I write my blog, to give readers an avenue to explore things that otherwise is overlooked. Byzantine history is one of those things overlooked which I have a dedicated site to, and only recently I have embarked on a WW1 project on my blog.

    1. Hard to resist writing and educate people.

      I will be embarking on a new project. I will be writing about the life of a WWII navigator, but just for his family. He is still living and I will be interviewing him.

  2. I am a teacher (English Primary) and I agree that much of history is glossed over. There are constraints put on us (Teachers) by the government, indeed the latest changes in our curriculum all but wipe out modern history in primary schools. As I have a personal interest in our history and in particular the air battles over Europe, I squeeze in where I can parts of both the first and Second World War.

    I find that many children are interested and want to know more, but there just isn’t sufficient time or scope to deal with the subject in any depth or to do it full justice.

    I write my own blog in an aim to preserve what little evidence there is, for others to see or experience and have had comments from a number of people, particularly the states, who have had fathers serve and die from British airfields. In some cases this has been the only link to a lost one they may have.

    The second (and all other wars) were all key to the shaping of the modem world and key to our understanding of what has been and possibly what will be. When is there not a war happening somewhere in the world?

    Blog writers, historians and writers in general are a key factor in keeping these memories alive so that we never forget the sacrifice of so many people in war wherever it may have taken place.

    1. Keeping people ignorant is in my humble opinion a way to control the masses.

      Who sets the curriculum in the schools? Certainly not the school bus driver.

      1. Recently it would seem the bus driver would be more suited to planning the curriculum thank those that do. Mr Gove and his companions did a really good job of removing modern history out of the primary curriculum. A change in government might change it back! Education is a political battlefield at present.

      2. By Jove, you don’t say.

        I would have never guessed…

        As a footnote

        I think you blog is a great way for people to reunite with their loved ones they lost in the war.

      3. From a fellow educationalists I suspect a hint of sympathy!

        It is a good way, a new friend whose father served here has his diaries and the blog brought them to life and gave them all a bit more meaning.

  3. I think in school there isn’t enough time to give enough focus to anyone history subject. In hindsight since starting my blog about my father in WW2, if I was still in college, I would look for a course focused on WW2 history.

Leave a Reply

