My friend Jim

I have a close friend.

Very close, yet so very far.

I live in Quebec and Jim lives in Manitoba.

We have never met…

We have never met in person.

Only on the Internet.

Maybe his father Jim met my wife’s uncle on the Athabaskan.

Sailor Jim L'Esperance

Jim L’Esperance

 

Maybe my wife’s uncle did not recollect exactly the story he told us on a summer day in Monkland, Ontario. I remember it was in July 2009.

How could I forget what he told us although he did not say much?

Was he really on the Athabaskan on that faithful early morning of April 29th, 1944?

Could he have made up a story to impress us as some veterans did?

Athabaskan sinking 1944

 

I don’t think he did.

So I got curious and started searching about that Unlucky Lady, a Canadian destroyer I never knew had ever existed.

I got lucky…

cover page 1

This is how Jim and I met on this blog about a ship I knew nothing about.

I have been writing about it since August 2009.

Lest We Forget  is the title of this blog so no one will ever forget that faithful morning of April 29, 1944.

5 thoughts on “My friend Jim

    1. Hi Clifford,

      You had commented on this post in 2011.

      https://athabaskang07.wordpress.com/2011/11/11/rememberance-week-remembering-hmcs-athabaskan/

      Then again in 2013…

      HI PIERRE,
      YOU ARE CORRECT BUT HE WAS ON THE SHIP WHEN UNDER ATTACK IF YOU READ THE BOOK ON THE UNLUCKY LADY. HE ALSO GOT A RECOMMENDATION FROM THE CAPTAIN OF THE SHIP. I AM VERY PROUD OF MY FATHER AS HE WAS FRENCH AND FROM MONTREAL QUEBEC. HE ALSO SERVED ON THE HAIDA.
      THANKS FOR YOUR ANSWER.

  1. Hi Pierre,
    If you have the book the Unlucky Lady you will see my dad’s name in it.
    FRANK RENE HARBOUR from Montreal. I was a lucky son because my dad was having an operation in Halifax when she sailed and was sunk.
    Cliff Harbour

Leave a Reply

