Chindits: British forced to shoot their wounded

Click here to read about it.

Excerpt

Now Masters reached a decision. They would withdraw. The worst that could happen was that he would face a Court Martial for disobeying orders.

Yet this was not the last difficult decision that Masters faced, he had to face up to what to do with men who were too badly wounded to be moved. There must have been other Allied commanders who faced the same problem. Masters was rare in being a man who was subsequently prepared to write about it, in detail:

11 thoughts on “Chindits: British forced to shoot their wounded

    1. It starts by the shooting of a mule…

      I went to the mule lines and saw Maggy quietly eating bamboo, a red gash in her belly and her entrails hanging out of it. She seemed to be in no pain and I hugged her neck, then Briggs shot her for me.

      Anti-climax they call it…

    2. I have met some veterans who made up stories or veterans who told me about veterans who had made up stories…

      You can’t make this up.

    3. Sorry if I am over commenting.

      This blog all started in 2009 when my wife’s uncle told us about the sinking of HMCS Athabaskan, a Canadian destroyer.

      He added a few details, and then stopped “dead in the water” talking about it.

      I knew nothing about that ship nor that it sank on April 29, 1944.

      So I began to search about it and started the blog Souvenirs de guerre and its English version Lest We Forget.

      I have found so much about the sinking and the sailors who were there, and were either killed, taken prisoners or were rescued by HMCS Haida.

      He told us without naming that ship that he was one who had been rescued.

      Pierre died one year later on Valentine’s Day carrying with him his souvenirs de guerre.

      I will never be 100% sure that he was telling the truth.

      When I come across something that moves me, I just have to share it with my readers.

      1. Do you know every time I try to reply to you on this tablet I am using tonight and a new message comes in my reply is deleted! I hate tablets. Whatever, the work you and GP Cox do is vital in keeping history alive! So important. It could all happen again. Look out for the rise of the far right in the Euro elections tonight and the sad event in Brussels today. Keep posting Sir!

      2. Throughout history the human race has been shifting from the left to the right then from the right to the left… like a pendulum.

        I have read something of that sort somewhere. I can’t put my finger on where I read it. Does not matter.

        It now seems the human race is heading full speed ahead to the right.

        I hope I am wrong about the human race.

Leave a Reply

