George W. Casswell

My Dad, George W. Casswell, also served on HMCS Athabaskan I (G07) and II. Dad was rescued by HMCS Haida’s cutter. He was a Petty Officer at the time. Dad retired from the RCN in 1967 after 27 years service, at the rank of CPO1. His last posting was as the Base Chief at CFB Cornwallis. Dad passed away on 31 December 2011 at the age of 92. The Navy was always part of his life.

This comment was made this week.

George W. Casswell also served on HMCS Nootka during the Korean War.

source

Caption

Nootka’s Petty Officers on her second tour of duty in Korea.

2) George W. Casswell, 7322-H, CP01, C10T4,  
6) CPO Robert Leigh Henry 

My wife’s uncle said he had served on the Nootka. That’s the only thing he said about it. 

Everything you have been reading on this blog is because he did not want to tell more about his ordeal when HMCS Athabaskan was sunk.

He said he was working in the engine room. So I started to write a blog about it first in French then in English.

I believe Pierre Bachant would be sailor no. 13.

I have no way to verify all this because Pierre Bachant died in 2010.

More on HMCS Haida’s cutter rescue…

2 thoughts on “George W. Casswell

  1. Hello
    This may seem odd but was your grandad also called George Casswell? I ask because my great uncle George Casswell served in the British navy. I’ve been told after WW1 he moved to Canada to work for the Canadian navy. I wonder if he had a son he called George who followed him into the navy?
    Sorry to bother you if there is no connection. If there is I’d be interested in finding out what happened to him.

    Thanks

    1. Hi Jon,

      I wrote this to Phil.

      Hi Phil,

      Got this message on my blog.

      Hello
      This may seem odd but was your grandad also called George Casswell? I ask because my great uncle George Casswell served in the British navy. I’ve been told after WW1 he moved to Canada to work for the Canadian navy. I wonder if he had a son he called George who followed him into the navy?
      Sorry to bother you if there is no connection. If there is I’d be interested in finding out what happened to him.

      Thanks

      It’s from Jon Darkin.

      Do you wish to contact her?

      Pierre

Leave a Reply

