George Howard

George Howard was an Able Seaman aboard HMCS Athabaskan. He was taken prisoner when the Unlucky Lady was sunk on April 29, 1944.

His daughter Melanie just left a comment.

My dad George Howard was a POW in Marlag and Milag Nord and I got to know Herm very well. After my mother passed away I went on all the POW Reunions with my dad. What a great group of men!
Melanie Taylor

Someone sent me this picture back in 2009 when I started writing this blog.

The names were written in the back.

So I made this montage… just in case.

George Howard is now reunited once more with his friends.

For more on Marlag und Milag Nord, click here.

2 thoughts on “George Howard

  1. Hello.
    My father, William McGregor served on the HMCS Athabaskan.
    He was killed when the ship was hit.
    I have the book, the Unlucky Lady. It is a wealth of information. I continue my interest in learning more about my dad and the Unlucky Lady.

    I worked at John Stubbs Memorial School in the Victoria area.
    My dad’s sister’s husband served on the Athabaskan II.
    My uncle invited me to tour that ship when she came to Comox, B.C.

    Here is a poem I wrote some time ago.

    STOLEN
    On this, yet,
    Another Remembrance Day,
    We are asked to pause
    And remember
    Men, women
    Called
    To the war.
    War
    To defend
    Democracy,
    Freedom,
    And ~
    The
    Peace of all people.
    Women, Men,
    Called to war
    Some
    Injured ~
    Some
    Killed ~~
    Some
    Prisoners of war ~
    Some
    Came home.
    Some did not. ~
    Today,
    I look
    Again
    Proudly
    Sadly
    At
    The
    Silver cross
    Given
    To me
    By a mother
    Who lost her son
    To a torpedo.
    A torpedo of
    War
    That hit the ship,
    The H.M.C.S. Athabaskan
    April 29, 1944.
    The H.M.C.S. Athabaskan.
    The ship
    My grandmother’s son
    Was on.
    Her son, my dad
    The “Athab”
    The ship my dad
    Was on
    Destroyed by a torpedoed.
    My wonderful Dad
    Was
    Stolen from
    His very young
    Child ~~
    ME.
    Stolen from
    His Mother
    His Dad
    His wife
    His sister
    His brother
    Stolen.
    Never to be retuned.
    Today
    I remember
    Sadly
    Proudly
    My
    Dad
    Who
    I hardly knew.
    A dad,
    Like others
    Served so
    I and others
    Can speak
    Freely.
    Move
    Freely
    In this land.
    Oh, how
    I wish I
    Knew
    My
    Dad
    Stolen from me
    By
    War.
    Oh
    How I wish for peace
    So other families
    Do not have a mom, dad stolen by war.

    Copyright Nov. 11/95
    Loretta Rose Deutscher (McGregor)

  2. Thank you for posting this blog. My father was Charles Burgess pictured in the reunion. I never met him and I was adopted . My name was changed to Abbruzzese. I have very few images of my father and know little about him.

Leave a Reply

