Message From Someone Aboard HMCS Haida on April 29, 1944

Sherry Pringle wanted to help me. She is the author of this book.

All-The-Ships-Men

She sent me the e-mail address of a sailor who was aboard HMCS Haida on April 29, 1944.

This is what he wrote about my wife’s uncle being rescued by HMCS Haida and not being on the “list”.

I am very sorry that I cannot help you.

When we got the survivors on board they were covered with dirty oil from head to foot and all we could do was to wash them down and give them our blankets to wrap themselves in.

Screwey things happened during that period. He could very well have been on the ship without a official record of him being maintained.

Source: Unlucky Lady

The more you learn, the more you want to find out… and share.

3 thoughts on “Message From Someone Aboard HMCS Haida on April 29, 1944

    1. If you have pictures you would like to share, I can post them on my blog like I did with those sent by relatives.
      I can also post stories or anecdotes if you want to share them.

  1. Thank you Pierre for your dedication. I and many others appreciate all you do to spread this information. It sure helps to keep the memories of our loved ones in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

