Williams, Kenneth W. – ERA

Hi, my great-uncle was killed on the Athabaskan. His name was Kenneth Williams. I know he worked in the engine room. Can anybody identify him in the top photograph assuming he is even in this specific photo?

Thanks

This picture was in the book Unlucky Lady.

Click here

In memory of
Engine Room Artificer 4th Class
KENNETH WALTER  WILLIAMS
who died on April 29, 1944

Military Service:

Service Number: A/5402
Age: 40
Force: Navy
Unit: Royal Canadian Navy Reserve
Division: H.M.C.S. Athabaskan

Additional Information:

Son of Walter J. Williams and Mae Winterbottom Williams; husband of Elsie Blears Williams, of Hamilton, Ontario.

Burial Information:

Cemetery:
PLOUESCAT COMMUNAL CEMETERY
Finistere,France

Grave Reference: Row B. Grave 6.

I will let Tim look for his grand-uncle…

Click on the image to zoom in

Click on the image to zoom in

7 thoughts on “Williams, Kenneth W. – ERA

  1. Hi, my Dad, Doug Laurie, was on the Athabaskan when it was sunk and was taken a POW. I am just wondering what year the about 2 pictures were taken.

  2. The two pictures were taken in April 1944 a few weeks before the sinking.
    This information is taken from the book Unlucky Lady.

  3. Hi there Pierre! I was reading your blog about Kenneth. We must be related because Ken is ALSO my great uncle!
    My grandfather Hector Williams’s brother. I believe I can find more photos of Ken. Pls email me back.
    Thanks
    G Williams

  4. Hi there I was talking to you months ago about Kenneth Williams on the HMCS Athabasken.
    He is definitely my great uncle as well, and he did live in Peterborough ON, and his father is Walter Williams. We can not however go back any further in the family scale past Walter. I know they immigrated to Canada in 1912 with their children.
    We are trying to find out the connection here as my grandfather Hector Williams, Jack Williams and Reg Williams (Kens brothers) all had the same pictures you’ve posted. All of the brothers worked in the Auto Industry in Peterborough ON.
    I think we should get in touch over this as we are trying to find out family ties.
    Please email me back at…

    1. This is what I wrote Tim…

      Hi Tim,

      Someone wrote this comment.

      Hi there I was talking to you months ago about Kenneth Williams on the HMCS Athabasken.
      He is definitely my great uncle as well, and he did live in Peterborough ON, and his father is Walter Williams. We can not however go back any further in the family scale past Walter. I know they immigrated to Canada in 1912 with their children.
      We are trying to find out the connection here as my grandfather Hector Williams, Jack Williams and Reg Williams (Kens brothers) all had the same pictures you’ve posted. All of the brothers worked in the Auto Industry in Peterborough ON.
      I think we should get in touch over this as we are trying to find out family ties.
      Please email me back at…

      Are you interested in contacting this person?

      Pierre Lagacé

Leave a Reply

