A comment just in…

Someone just sent me this…

Today I came across a piece of information that stunned me.

I was told that the mystery of the sinking of the HMS Athabaskan was created because of the ship actually being sunk by US forces during WWII rather than by a German Navy ship like all seem to believe.

The secrecy created over it was done because of the large number of deaths as a result of the friendly fire. According to my unnamed source (because I forgot to ask him his name) came from a navigator who flew up and down the channel in a Mosquito fighter airplane on a daily basis in protection of the small vessels that were in constant peril from both enemy and friendly fire as they made their trips over to Europe keeping continual supplies headed to the troops who were fighting their way across Europe by then.

I was suprised at how well he looked for a man of his years and how clear his mind was at the same time. He is one of those individuals we occasionally hear about who is in perfect health at age 88 and easily makes the trip to the doctor’s office on his own without the need for help from anyone else.

I met a fellow of 94 last summer who once lived in my same apartment building 60 years earlier and came to snoop. He still sold boat parts for a living down at the annual boat show in Toronto. and when he told me he was 94, I could not believe that anyone could still think the wartime story was the truth.

In any case, it was this navigator’s clarity that prompted me to check out his supposed story of how the HMCS Athabaskan really sank.

He simply said that his superiors told everyone who had heard the stories to stop there and learn the truth. It was a case of “Changing the story because the story did not fit the facts.” In other words, he said the Americans really sank the HMCS Athabaskan from the air as they made the run along the channel planning to eject their bombs as they were requested not to do. The HMCS Athabaskan just happened to be in the way and not a threat to the German ships.

While this warrants more research, I have to say I trust this gentleman’s mind since he was there. I was not there and so I cannot go on anything other than what people tell me or what I read but be assured I will definitely try and learn more.

Any comment on this?

6 thoughts on “A comment just in…

  1. There have been investigations on the sinking of the Athabaskan several times and I recall Herman Sulkers [a crew member of the Athabaskan] saying he believed the British accidently sank the Athabaskan.
    When the ship was inspected after it was located, it was decided that Herman was wrong.
    This show inspecting the ship and the cause of its sinking has been on the History Channel several times.

    Jim

    1. Hi Jim,

      I know that part of the story.
      The comment made was intriguing and I wanted to share it.
      It made sense and I am not censoring any comment which seems to shed light on that mysterious sinking.

      Best regards,

      Pierre

  2. This caught my attention Pierre.I was in British Columbia back in 1997 and I stopped in at a legion in a small town [I think it was Ladner BC] with my wife. There was what I believe was a newsletter which had an article on the sinking of the Athabaskan in the newsletter. I brought that article home with me in our motor home.

    It was 5 months of travelling before we got back home and I had put the article away with out reading it carefully. But if I recall right the author claimed the ship was not sunk by the Germans. When we got home I looked everywhere for that article and I never did locate it. I do think the writter said he got his facts from files released 50 years after the war ended.

    Jim

  3. WOW ! As a 85 year old Retired Stoker, (with a 19 year time in) this subject comes right back at me !
    As a Leading Stoker in the 50s after Korea. I was working with a stoker PO, which we be came friends.
    Naturally, we had a lot of Sailor talk. I (I was in Cayuga 2nd trip with the “Great Impostor”).

    Back to Jake. My Stoker PO friend. Naturally, over our time together, a lot of Salty Dips!

    Jake then, after me asking about his Wartime experiences told me he had been in Atha “B” when she was sunk. ! (I will Make this short ! ) If you are not a stoker , I apologize , for the description ,

    When Atha “B” was hit and sinking, Jake was hit in #1 boiler room , which was taking on water quickly , and filling up ! a few of the stokers headed for the escape hatch and they and were killed by the broken super heated steam lines !! I asked Jake HOW in the HELL did he get out !

    As the sea water was flooding the space, Jake jumped in the bilge and rose up with the water until he reached the ESCAPE hatch ! As a stoker myself, I remembered that every time I entered the PIT !

    Conclusion. Those which swam away on the port side, were picked up by a German Gun Boat which had sunk it and became prisoners of war, and those leaving from the Starboard, were picked up by a Canadian Destroyer.

    This is the best I can do

    Bill Buck

    1. WOW!

      I am speechless Mister Bill.
      You can’t make up a story like this.
      No way.

      I will write you a personal email.

Leave a Reply

