Paul Sulkers Paying Homage to His Father

Paul Sulkers, Herm’s son, wrote me again and sent me this message…

Last month, he had sent me these two beautiful pictures of HMCS Athabaskan’s crew taken in April 1944.

Hi Pierre, on your site, which is such a great archive of history and special memories, you have highlighted several sailors by including their photo. I would be very appreciative if you could include my Dad’s picture along with the other material that you have already compiled for his memory.

I have also included a few other artefacts – a letter from the Manitoba Lt Governor indicating to my grandparents that he was missing that night 29th April 1944. Then post cards from Ham radio operators in the US that picked up Red Cross signals regarding prisoners of war, and then a letter from the Navy indicating that my grandparent’s son, Herm, was a POW. And then a letter from the Navy that my Dad has been released.

Sadly, 128 families only received the first letter from the Lt Governor.
Hope that you can use these.

Hope that you can post My Dad’s photo

Herman Cornelius Sulkers
Able Seaman
V-24660
Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve

All the best as we approach the 67th Anniversary.

Paul

Come back tomorrow…

11 thoughts on “Paul Sulkers Paying Homage to His Father

  1. My dad George Howard was a POW in Marlag and Milag Nord and I got to know Herm very well. After my mother passed away I went on all the POW Reunions with my dad. What a great group of men!
    Melanie Taylor

    1. P.S. Does anyone know the name of the show on the History Channel where they interviewed a lot of the survivors? I am not talking about the France documentary. Thanks!
      Melanie Taylor

  2. Hi there, I’m not sure if this will be seen by Paul Sulkers or not. But in looking through some old photos of my grandfathers (Harry Shave) for a photo of him in his WWII navy uniform for a Remeberance Day write up I am doing on him for work. I came upon a newspaper article that was cut out most lilkely from the Winnipeg Tribune about three Winnipeg crew members missing from the HMCS Athabaskan (OD L.R. Johnson, AB Herman Sulkers, PO Eddie Bieber). I figured that my grandpa knew them some how for saving the article, possibly from Winnipeg where he was born and grew up in Elmwood or from the navy. But in my further search through the photos I found a hand full of photos of my grandpa and Herman Sulkers both in their navy uniforms at my great grandparents house in Winnipeg and two of them on their road bikes with a date of 1938 on the back stating “that’s me on the right at 18” which was referring to Herman. So if Paul Sulkers sees this I just wanted to randomly let him know that my grandpa Harry Shave was a good mate of your dads from Winnipeg:)

    1. This is what I wrote Paul…

      Hi Paul,

      I got this comment on the blog.

      Hi there, I’m not sure if this will be seen by Paul Sulkers or not. But in looking through some old photos of my grandfathers (Harry Shave) for a photo of him in his WWII navy uniform for a Remeberance Day write up I am doing on him for work. I came upon a newspaper article that was cut out most lilkely from the Winnipeg Tribune about three Winnipeg crew members missing from the HMCS Athabaskan (OD L.R. Johnson, AB Herman Sulkers, PO Eddie Bieber). I figured that my grandpa knew them some how for saving the article, possibly from Winnipeg where he was born and grew up in Elmwood or from the navy. But in my further search through the photos I found a hand full of photos of my grandpa and Herman Sulkers both in their navy uniforms at my great grandparents house in Winnipeg and two of them on their road bikes with a date of 1938 on the back stating « that’s me on the right at 18 » which was referring to Herman. So if Paul Sulkers sees this I just wanted to randomly let him know that my grandpa Harry Shave was a good mate of your dads from Winnipeg:)

      Pierre

    2. If you want to share those pictures on the blog you are most welcomed to do so.This is how this blog has been growing since 2009.

Leave a Reply

