HMCS Athabaskan revisited

Stanley Dick’s niece wrote me…

Click on the picture to zoom in.

This blog started when my wife’s uncle told us he was on board the Athabaskan when it sank on April 29, 1944.

He was not on the list of sailors found in the book The Unlucky Lady. He gave me enough information so I truly believe he was on that ship that faithful night.

Since he did not want to talk about it more, I created this blog to pay homage to him and to all his shipmates.

Pierre died on Valentine’s Day 2010. He was 81.

Lest we forget.


2 thoughts on “HMCS Athabaskan revisited

  1. My father John James Acorn LS was also on board the Athabaskan at the time of its sinking and was a POW until the end of the war. His picture is in the top back row 4 th from the left. I hope to put together more information and letters that I have had in my trunk since I was a child and share them with those whom might be interested. He was from a large family in which himself and his five brothers served in the Military during WW II.

  2. This blog is a tool to share our knowledge and thus pay homage to these sailors who lost the lives or who paid a heavy price to defend freedom and their country.

    The title says a lot… Lest We Forget.

Leave a Reply

