Interesting comment

My dad should be on the lists of men that survived the sinking, but he is not. I have his original records but they are almost unlegible now. Does anyone know if records are still available?

Interesting reply on my part…

You could get his record files from Archives Canada, but they are not detailed records.
Can you scan what you have at 600 dpi or have someone help you to do it?
I could then try to find clues.
My wife’s uncle’s name was not also on the list, but he told us he survived the sinking and was picked up by HMCS Haida.

Two sailors with the Anderson name did served on that ship.
There is a list in the book Unlucky Lady of sailors who served prior to her last final patrol.

Able Seaman H. F. Anderson, number V-9893, from St. Vital, Manitoba.
Leading Seaman E. Anderson, number 3530, from Edmonton, Alberta

You see this blog was started in 2009 because a man did not want to tell about the ordeal. I knew nothing about HMCS Athabaskan even though I thought I was quite knowledgeable about the history of WWII.

This is the first article.

At first I wrote articles in French on my blog Souvenirs de guerre, but so many English speaking people were helping me I just had to start a new one in English.

This is post No. 243.

All is not about HMCS Athabaskan on this blog, but does it really matters?

Lest we forget.

4 thoughts on “Interesting comment

  1. Pierre, just google the War Records Office and apply to have your loved ones’ records sent to you. You can get a brief overlay or an in-depth one that you pay for. The records will tell the truth about where your father-in-law was on April 29, 1944. Check it out. Good luck. Surely you can find what you are searching for through them.
    Sherry pringle

    • Pierre Bachant was not my father-in-law but my uncle’s wife.
      But that’s okay.
      I will check this out, but I don’t think you can get access to this information without proof of death.
      I have some service records from Archives Canada on others, but since they died in combat, I did not need proof of death and I got them… Eugene Gagnon, Laurent Dubois, the Rousseau brothers.

      Also, I don’t want to bother his two daughters about getting his death certificate, so I will leave it at that.

      Thanks for your message.

      Love your book.

      Pierre

      • Went on the site and I downloaded a document.
        It was free of charge.

        This is part of the document.

        REPORT FOR THE MONTH OF APRIL 1944 $OR THE DOMINIONS,
        INDIA, BURMA AND THE COLONIES AND MANDATED
        TERRITORIES.

        page 2

        10. On the night of the 28th/29th H.M.C.S. Athabaskan and Haida inter­
        cepted two German destroyers of the Elbing class off He de Vierge, Brittany. One
        German destroyer was left aground and on fire and the other escaped.
        H.M.C.S. Athabaskan was sunk, thirty-eight survivors were picked up by Haida,
        six more who had to be left in Haida’s motor-boat on the scene of the action
        subsequently arrived safely at Plymouth. The Germans claim forty-seven
        prisoners.

    • Pierre,
      Several years ago my husband sought records on his father. He was given a choice between brief and in-depth records. He received reams of data. Option two, why don’t you call the archives and have a researcher look into it for you.

      Sherry

Leave a Reply

